Initial Sketches – Towards Abstraction

Without any planning or preconceived notions, I studied and painted my jar with my own initial interpretation of what abstraction would be.

Of course what I created was very much figurative and if anything representational of what I saw in front of me. Next time I will try to really consider how I am applying the paint/ for what intention /mood etc…

Below are painted oil studies, and ones completed using a palette knife. I found the application of oil with a palette knife to be much more fun than the brush, however I did not enjoy the results as much. Although to fix the issue, I believe if I were to attempt larger pieces I would find it more effective/pleasing.

image1-10.JPG

image2-8.JPG

image3-5.JPG

image4-3.JPG

Leave a Reply

