Love/Hate Copenhagen

5 THINGS YOU LOVED

THE BIRDS PLAYING THE GUITARS

This particular room of Copenhagen Contemporary I feel like I will carry with me for the rest of my life. The feeling I felt in there was incomparable to any artwork or exhibition I have been to before. The whole experience, from the initial mystery of what was inside the room, to the very surreal experience of roaming and listening to the birds/guitars resonated with me deeply.

THE SERVANT MONKEY VIDEO

This too felt very profound. I found it disturbing and calming all the same, and enjoyed it thoroughly because of that. Once I finished the film and I then read the information/artists bio, I was then all the more amazed and intrigued by it’s meaning and significance.

THE NORTHERN LIGHTS EXHIBITION

I loved seeing how the early depictions of the northern lights were visualised through print and illustrations. The scientific diagrams were also of interest to me, as the phenomenon of northern lights seems best left protected and unexplained. (I also enjoyed the video with the Bjork song)

WILLIAM KENTRIDGE’S EXHIBITION

The theatre and story telling of his show was incredible. Every room I walked into was an experience in itself, and he never ceased to surprise me. I especially loved his homage to the Lumiere brothers, I felt I could have sat there for hours watching his silent films.

THE JAZZ BAR/ JERBANECAFEEN PUB

Never before had I seen live jazz before, and not only that but never have I seen my friends jam so well either. A night I will never forget.

‘The third best pub in Copenhagen’ was deeply comforting to me. Like a home from home, it’s beautifully full and cosy atmosphere felt very nostalgic and warming to me. It reminded me of a happy early childhood.

 

 

5 THINGS YOU HATED

HOW EMPTY/SPACRE COPENHAGEN FELT

The city felt very spread out. Although things were within ‘walking distance’, the sizes of the tall building in the centre and long and large cutting roads throughout were very disconcerting to me. They opened up the city and spilled it of it’s population. There seemed to be nobody around, and I wonder whether this layout intentionally rations the population across the city or not. It made certain areas of the city feel very grim and emotionless.

THE HOUSES WE SAW ON OUR WAY TO LOUISIANA

On the train we flew through lots of small towns and villages on our way to Louisiana. On this journey we saw such a vast variety of houses, all kinds of shapes and sizes. Some large with extremely pointy roofs, and others packed together with the most extreme confinements of space and regularity. I found this juxtaposition and irregularity of housing deeply upsetting and horrifying.

THE BREAKFAST

Heavily disappointed with the breakfast provided by the hostel, but also with the tradition of ham and cheese for breakfast. It just didn’t seem right, sorry Copenhagen.

THE DESIGN ASPECT OF COPENHAGEN

I felt the logic and ingenuity of Danish design cold and distasteful. Despite the fact I really appreciated the design museum, and the clever ergonomically design of some pieces, I still couldn’t get past the fact that their whole objective seemed to remove the fun and unpredictability of life.

HOW AUTONOMOUS THE PEOPLE SEEMED

For example, how people would walk very orderly, obeying the commands of the traffic lights and road markings. It felt like people lived by the rules and were loyal to it. It also seemed as if each person might just be copying the other, only to achieve the same boring balance and safety in their life.

Leave a Reply

