Constructing the Paintings

I decided against using normal canvas for my paintings as I wanted to search for something more appropriate in significance to my theme.

To use wood seemed perfect, as in a way it can imitate this notion of ships out at sea, and the wood helps to ground this idea.

image1-10.JPG

I took apart scrap pallets, and then reassembled them much like a float.

image2-8.JPG

image3-5.JPG

I also began to prime the wood with acrylic gesso.

I plan to make several of these, maybe three or four, and in execution I hope that they emulate a similar diy style to that of Basquiat’s wood paintings.

Flexible 1984, Water Worshipper 1984

Leave a Reply

