Henry Moore – Tate Britain

– Draped Seated Women – 1957-58

I went to the Tate Britain to see Henry Moore’s work in person. I had seen it before, but until now I had not fully realised my appreciation for his forms and workmanship.

His skill goes beyond many artists, he was constantly pushing what could be done to the figure and had produced many lovely results over the years.

I particularly liked his Draped Seated Women, and his Family Group (1944-5) series. Seeing all his various maquette for Family Group was extremely interesting. I could begin to understand how self critical Moore must have been, and therefore carried out with a very thoughtful and methodic process. Rigorous testing of maquette and initial drawings, supports this, and further clarifies my own way of working – to develop and research through the materials and the processes themselves.

 

Leave a Reply

