Reclaiming Ceramics in the Fine Arts

http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/art/features/the-great-ceramics-revival-how-clay-is-oozing-back-into-contemporary-art-a6925961.html

This artcile really helps to reaffirm my belief in using ceramics to help build upon my practice.

Often it is dismissed as a crafts medium, and a means to a practical end, however I disagree and like that this popular opinion brings a challenge to overcome.

If by addressing serious subject matter, like that of my FMP project, (the refugee crisis) – am I then allowed permission to use this meduim?..

But in retrospect the reasons I have for using ceramics are appropiate to my project. The material itself, stoneware, terracotta, and porcelain are all connected to the places in which countries have been affected by the refugee crisis. Such as Syria, Afghanistan, and South Sudan.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

