Using news articles…

I have embarked on taking news imagery of refugees to become my subject matter, and then to translate them into the Romantic style I have been pursuing with my family sketches.

For example after researching this source: http://time.com/refugee-rescue/ I collected both the information and imagery I needed…

– Her daughter came right up to me. “My name is Comfort,” she said. “I want to go to school.”

This quote could be used for the Titles of my works, or even incorporated into the piece description.

I have also sketched from news stories such as: http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/refugee-crisis-migrants-asylum-seekers-latest-un-zeid-hussein-human-rights-chilling-indifference-a7619301.html#gallery

Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 20.15.42.png

image2-8 copy.JPG

I translate them by using soft pastels in my sketchbook. I have found the blocks of colour and broken up spaces work well. This will then be painted in oil onto the wooden rafts I have built.

 

Leave a Reply

